Yumi Hara  News

9 September 2021

Chris Cutler has had to withdraw from the Yumi Hara 2-Day Residency at Cafe Oto, 11-12 Sept 2021, to self-isolate.
We are glad to announce that we've been able to persuade Guy Evans to leap to the rescue.
Guy is best known as the drummer for Van Der Graaf Generator.
He also played with The Misunderstood, Arthur Brown, Amon Düül II and Mother Gong.
He is a founder member of Echo City, a band of musician-designers who perform on giant self-made instruments,
collectively known as sonic playgrounds.
He now regularly plays in the improvising collective, AMM All Stars,
whose live performances and xenochronic compositions are broadcast weekly on Resonance FM’s Late Lunch With Out To Lunch.
We are all looking forwards very much to working with him this weekend.

Yumi Hara Residency at Cafe OTO Sat 11-Sun 12 Sept 2021

Yumi Hara retrospective focusing on the past 10 years of her activities
<This is a third capacity, mask wearing & social distancing event>

Sat 11 September 2021
Itako Sisters (Yumi Hara + Atsuko Kamura)
THE WATTS (Yumi Hara, Tim Hodgkinson, Guy Evans)
Chlöe Herington solo
Yumi solo material / Lindsay Cooper Songbook Alone+ / Canterbury Favourites
(Yumi Hara, Tim Hodgkinson, Guy Evans, Pierre Chevalier, Atsuko Kamura, Chloe Herington)
DJ Marina Organ (The Other Rock Show/Resonance FM)

Sun 12 September 2021
Yumi Hara & Guy Harries
The Artaud Beats (Yumi Hara, Geoff Leigh, John Greaves, Guy Evans)
monobeat (Zappi Diermeier, Elke Drapatz, Guy Harries)
Jump for Joy! (Yumi Hara, Geoff Leigh, Jean-Hervé Péron, Zappi Diermaier, Geraldine Swayne, Guy Evans)
DJ Lumpen Nobleman (ContraPop/Extra Normal Records)

Tickets available from Cafe OTO website: Yumi Hara – Two-Day Residency ← Cafe OTO
day tickets: £20 members, £22 advance, £24 door
two-days tickets: £36 members, £40 advance

Contactless payment only for merch

5 April 2021

Yumi Hara residency at Cafe OTO originally scheduled in June 2020 then June 2021 has now been re-postponed to Sat 11 & Sun 12 September 2021.
Confirmed musicians so far:
Yumi Hara
Chris Cutler
Tim Hodgkinson
Geoff Leigh
John Greaves
Jean-Hervé Péron
Zappi Diermaier
Geraldine Swayne
Atsuko Kamura
Pierre Chevalier
Chloe Herington
Kyle McCallum (DJ)
more TBC
will perform following sets:
THE WATTS (Yumi Hara, Chris Cutler, Tim Hodgkinson)
The Artaud Beats (Yumi Hara, Geoff Leigh, John Greaves, Chris Cutler)
Jump for Joy! (Yumi Hara, Geoff Leigh, Jean-Hervé Péron, Zappi Diermaier, Geraldine Swayne, Chris Cutler)
Itako Sisters (Yumi Hara, Atsuko Kamura)
Yumi solo material/Lindsay Cooper Songbook Alone+/ Canterbury Favourites (Yumi Hara, Chris Cutler, Pierre Chevalier, more TBC)
monobeat (Zappi, Elke plus more TBC)
and more sets TBC

14 March 2021

MINIATURES 2020 is now officially released (15th March 2021), available from ReR.
Yumi contributed with her clavichord solo version of Slice, written by Lindsay Cooper for Henry Cow.

Watch video here